Academic Awards

Supported by the Education committee, the Academic Awards Ceremony is held each May at Rio Vista High School. The intent of this event is to honor all students who have met high academic standards in the past school year and to award Soroptimist and other service club scholarships to graduating seniors. 

Medals (silver for high honors, gold for highest honors) are awarded to students in all four classes for their excellent academic performance during the year. Awards are also given to the juniors and seniors with the highest cumulative grade point averages. Soroptimist scholarships, which recognize both academic achievement and community service, are presented. Other service clubs present their scholarships as well. To conclude the ceremony, the Valedictorian and Salutatorian are announced.

Following the event, dessert is served to students, parents and guests.